Event Industry Awards 2018

Our Judges

An independent panel of recognised and expert judges, representing the events sector, will determine the winners of the Event Industry Awards.

Our focus is to deliver a balanced judging assessment from industry leaders who will bring their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm and expertise to the judging process ensuring that the winning entries are truly outstanding and worthy of receiving an Event Industry Award.

The panel is carefully selected to ensure the Awards' judging process is fair and objective. The judges are bound by a strict confidentiality agreement and are required to declare any conflict of interest in entries over which they deliberate, in which case that entry will be reallocated. The integrity of this process lies at the very heart of all that we do.

We recognise and respect the sensitive nature of the information submitted in the entries. Submissions are not disclosed or discussed outside the judging process. We do not publish the names of companies, organisations or individuals that have not been shortlisted for an Award, nor will we reproduce any information from your entry unless prior permission is given.

A comprehensive judging process has been put together to decide the worthy winners of the Event Industry Awards:

Judging Process

  1. After the closing date for receiving submissions, all entries will be sent for the first round of review.
  2. Entries will be carefully scrutinised with the best selected to go forward to the shortlist for each category.
  3. The shortlist of finalists will be published on the Awards' website.
  4. Judges are divided into a minimum of two panels, ensuring any potential conflict is avoided.
  5. The judges will score each of the entries allocated to them against a predetermined set of scores.
  6. Scores are then collected and collated, with the entrant receiving the highest overall score being declared the winner of that category.
  7. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony. The judge's decision is final and no correspondence, telephone, email or communication of any kind will be entered into in relation to decisions reached.

2018 Judging Panel Coming Soon

Please view last year's judging panel below.

2017 Judging Panel

Alex Gibson
Judging Co-ordinator & Senior Lecturer, School of Hospitality Management and Tourism, DIT
Mary O'Rawe Judging Co-ordinator & Lecturer in Innovation Management, School of Hospitality Management and Tourism, DIT
Rachelle O'Brien Judging Co-ordinator & Assistant Lecturer, School of Hospitality Management and Tourism, DIT
David Adler CEO & Founder, BizBash Media, USA
Hiten Bajaj Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Mosaic Live, United Arab Emirates
Maeve Buckley Director, Line Up - Sports Media Entertainment
John Carty Lecturer in the College of Tourism and Arts, Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT)
Colm Croffy Executive Director, Association of Irish Festivals and Events (AOIFE)
Claire Dumbrell Commercial Director, EventInsure.ie
Dr. Elling Hamso Managing Partner, Event ROI Institute, Norway
Lucy Horan Former Lecturer, School of Hospitality Management & Tourism, DIT
Sam Johnston Manager, Dublin Convention Bureau
Lynn Lester Managing Director of Events, The Drum, UK
Declan Maxwell Restaurant Manager, Luna
Andrea Michaels President/Owner, Extraordinary Events, USA
Dr. Bernadette Quinn Programme Chair, MSc Event Management, College of Arts & Tourism, DIT
Mary Weir Co-founder, Event Industry Association of Ireland

Visit Our Twitter Page! Visit Our Facebook Page! Visit Our LinkedIn Page! Visit Our Youtube Page! Visit us on Instagram!